Going solo…

Of course everyone who chooses to go on a year abroad has some desire to travel, and I came with a whole list of places I wanted to visit on this side of the world. Unfortunately, these plans don’t always reflect the exact agenda of the friends you make and the people you meet, so that meant going there by myself.

A lot of people find travelling by themselves quite daunting and ‘dangerous’ especially for females so I wanted to share my experiences because hopefully it will encourage people to do the same thing. If you want to visit somewhere but don’t have anyone to go with, you should definitely still go because as soon as you get back to England, you won’t be just a couple hours plane ride from the great barrier reef anymore!

I had wanted to visit Singapore for a long time and I had a great opportunity to after my trip to Vietnam seeing as it’s en route back to oz. Deciding to travel by myself wasn’t actually something I pondered on for long, I knew I wanted to do it and I never felt like it was an unsafe thing to do as long as you’re aware of your surroundings.

By this time, I had already been on planes by myself quite a few times so this was much less daunting now. However, I am one of the most hopeless people I know when it comes to public transport, maps, directions, reading signs and everything in that general area…so this part was pretty daunting. Luckily, everyone speaks English in Singapore so getting around really wasn’t very difficult and I found the subway system so easy! So much easier than anything I’d used in England.

Finding my own way around was actually a lot of fun and I was finally forced to learn how to read maps so it was very beneficial! It’s a lot easier to travel by yourself in a lot of ways because you don’t really need to plan or discuss anything with anyone else, you can just do whatever you want! πŸ˜€

I also traveled to Hong Kong by myself and this was quite a similar experience, though a lot harder to find my way around! But you always manage to find your way and I gained so much more independence from these trips than I did even leaving home and going to university in the first place.

I can’t say I prefer traveling alone because I think that it is always more fun with other people (as long as you both like the same things that is), but it’s something I think everyone should experience at least once. I gained so many life skills in these few short days and I can finally tick some more countries off my list!

Leave a Reply

