Christmas on the other side of the world!

The thought of spending xmas away from home was quite daunting, especially seeing as I had no idea where or what I would be doing! I had no intentions of going back to the UK though, I wanted to make the most of the opportunity I had. My friends family were actually coming over to Australia to visit him and i was lucky enough to be invited to spend it with them. We went to Nowra which is 2 hours from Sydney and has some of the best beaches in Australia! We even went to one with squeaky sand!!!

On Christmas eve we all went to the local park and sang some xmas carols with the community church choir, relaxing in the sun wearing flip flops! Of course it didn’t quite feel Christmassy, but it was really nice to experience a different way of doing things.

On Christmas day it was a lovely hot morning and we all went for a swim in the pool as you’d expect…but by the afternoon we were all stuck indoors because of heavy rain and thunder! So we did a jigsaw puzzle and it turned out to be not so different from xmas back home anyway.

Then on boxing day we went to a water park! Even though it didn’t quite feel like Christmas, I think I quite preferred this way of celebrating!

Seeing as we were so close to Sydney, it would have been a shame to miss out on the famous New Years Eve celebrations! We went pretty unprepared in terms of where to go what to bring etc, so it didn’t go as smoothly as I’d hope! There were a lot of separate viewing points, some of which you needed tickets and it was all sold out so the view we ended up getting was less than ideal. The atmosphere was good and I’m glad we went, but I would definitely recommend going prepared next time!

Leave a Reply

