Mid-Semester Reflections

by Emily Kitamura 

I am now 8 weeks into my course at Chuo University in Tokyo, Japan and thought it would be a good time to reflect on my time here so far. 

From Tokyo Station at night

Firstly, I cannot believe how fast time has gone. I feel like so much has happened and it is only really now I actually feel settled. 

I knew it would take time for me to sort out all of the general administrative tasks when moving to another country as well as adjusting to the new culture. I however feel I had underestimated how long everything would take. Not to mention the amount of paperwork needed to complete what I would have expected to be a simple task. From registering with the local ward office, signing up for medical insurance, phone contracts, opening a bank account and getting pocket wifi (as there was no wifi in my accommodation!). Everything was so much more complicated than I had realised. Nonetheless, now with lots of that dealt with, my time is now filled with mid-term deadlines with university and planning trips with friends in the upcoming holiday! 

inside Chuo University Law School

University 

In Japan, I was told in advance what modules were taught in which block each week before I chose my modules. Therefore, it meant I could choose classes/times to suit me. I decided to keep Friday free (in the autumn semester) so I could do long weekend trips and travel around Japan. 


Most of my classes are labelled as ‘lectures’ however they are very interactive. Particularly in classes that are made up of mostly exchange students, there are lots of discussions on the topic from the Japanese law point of view with contributions from exchange students who are from different countries. 


At my host university, like in Sheffield, on the module outline, it says how you will be assessed. Most of the modules I have selected involve up to 50% of the grade being made up of attendance and class participation which I had not experienced in Sheffield. I found the amount of discussions in class strange at first but quickly got used to it and found I really enjoy this way of learning. Discussing things in small groups where each person is from a different country makes each discussion very interesting. 

After the adjustment to the different teaching style at my host university, we now have mid-term assignments due. The constant stream of workload is something I have now adjusted to and realised the importance of being open to things popping up unannounced and being adaptable and responding to them as required. 

My Learning

The best piece of advice I could give anyone is to be accepting if things do not go as smoothly as you had anticipated.

 

Shinjuku Botanical Gardens


I tried to plan many things out before I arrived with hopes it would make it easier upon arrival, and do not get me wrong, it did put my mind at ease. However, when bumps in the road began to appear, I tried so hard to smooth things out. I quickly found this was impossible and I thought letting go was likely to be easier. This was difficult to do but as soon as I did, it did begin to feel easier. I am proud to say I am now finding joy when things go to plan, rather than beating myself up about when things do not go as planned. 


This shift in my mindset has made me more resilient and open to things when they do not work out as anticipated. I still plan as that is part of my personality, but being more open to things and accepting/embracing when things go wrong. This has been such a valuable lesson for me which is why I wanted to share. I hope if you are reading this and considering going abroad, be aware you will face challenges. But you are not alone!

 

Shrines and a Firework Festival!

Author: uosglobalopps

Providing Global Opportunities at The University of Sheffield for over 30 years. 🌍 Always ready to improve our accessibility, diversity and opportunities.

Leave a comment